Pickling Time!!

ATCHARA

Atchara (also spelled Achara or Atsara), is a pickle made from grated unripe papaya popular in the Philippines. This dish is often served as a side dish for fried or grilled foods such as pork barbecue. The name may come from several names for South Asian pickle and is related to acar from neighbouring Indonesia and Malaysia.

(c) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atchara

Atcharang Sayote (Chayote)

12822715_10201406230194440_1150052534_o

In my country this is the popular appetizers that mos Filipino serves in every party. Some people use only one ingredients in the pickling process but in my home town we use many vegetables in making the atchara but the main ingredients there is the papaya fruit. Here in Canada you can’t find raw papaya so instead of papaya I change it into Sayote/ Chayote. Here are the recipe that I follow when I made the pickling process.

Atchara (Papaya)

Prep time:10 mins
Cook time:30 mins
Total time:40 mins
Author: Vanjo Merano
Serves: 12

Ingredients

  • 3 to 4 lbs. green papaya, julienned
  • 2 medium sized carrots, julienned
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced lengthwise
  • 10 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp whole peppercorn
  • 1 large red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 knob ginger, cut into thin strips
  • ¼ cup salt (to dehydrate papaya)
  • 1½ tsp salt (for the brine or syrup)
  • 2 cups white vinegar
  • 1⅓ cups granulated sugar
  • 2 small boxes raisins

Instructions

  1. Place the julienned papaya in a large bowl and combine ¼ cup salt then mix until the salt is well distributed.
  2. Cover the bowl and place inside the refrigerator overnight (the salt will dehydrate the papaya).
  3. Place the julienned papaya in a colander or strainer then rinse with running water.
  4. Using cheesecloth (or any cloth) as a container, put the rinsed papaya inside the cloth and squeeze until all the liquid comes out.
  5. Put the papaya back in the large bowl and combine with carrots, garlic, ginger, onions, whole peppercorn, bell pepper, and raisins
  6. Heat the saucepan and pour-in the vinegar and bring to a boil.
  7. Add the sugar and 1½ tsp salt then stir until well diluted
  8. Turn off the heat and allow the syrup to cool down until temperature is low enough to handle.
  9. Place the combined vegetables and spices in a sterilized airtight jar and pour-in the syrup
  10. Seal the jar and place inside the refrigerator for a week (or 5 days minimum to achieve the expected texture and flavor).
  11. Serve cold with fried dishes. Share and Enjoy!

(c) http://panlasangpinoy.com/2009/10/28/pickled-papaya-appetize-atsara-achara-atchara-recipe/

Documentations

12773286_10201406243634776_1829305522_o

Findings

Since I didn’t follow the recipe I just change the papaya into sayote/chayote for me there was a bit risk in part because I feeling that it will not come out good and this is my first time in doing pickling process. Back home I just watch in my aunt on how she do it when I already got my finish product I give it to my friend just to judge it because if I’m gonna judge it for me it is good so I want to see the comment of others. So when my friend taste it she said that it’s look like different of what they are buying in the market. She said that it’s not too sour and not to sweet there is the balance of the taste and it’s not so strong. The over all Findings it was so good in their perceptions.

 

Leave a comment